HISTORY OF JOSEPH HOUSE
Joseph House has been a house of prayer, vocation, and community that has brought light and love to the world.
In the late 1800's, Monsignor Hevey, the pastor at Ste. Marie's Catholic Church, began the construction of Joseph House for the Freres Maristes. He had brought the brothers over from France to teach at the high school located on Ste. Marie's campus.
The house would be completed in 1905.
Over the years, the house fell into disrepair and stood abandoned for several years. In the 1980's, Fr. Marc Montminy and Sr. Mary Anne Laughlin refurbished and reopened Joseph House as a retreat center.
Until spring of 2020, Joseph House functioned as a retreat house, with a particular focus in Ignatian spirituality.
Msgr. Hevey's tireless passion for his church community and the "unique devotion to the glory of God" laid the foundation for what the house is to this day.